Quilting lines pattern – raindrop-ish

zen umbrella - triangle squiggles
zen umbrella - wavy lines
Quilting lines pattern - Wavy, squiggly boxes, or raindrop-ish

What pattern of quilting lines would enhance this quilt? This option is meant to suggest raindrops. I hope an actual machine quilting professional would provide a better interpretation than I’ve drawn here. How do I weigh the idea of the quilting following the theme of the quilt vs. the quilting enhancing the overall visual design of the quilt? Do other quilters find the theme to sometimes be in conflict with design? I’m afraid I’m not making a clear point.

Trying again. I think it would be ‘safer’ to pick a simple design like the wavy lines. But it would be more of a design challenge to try a raindrop theme that may turn out to overwhelm the quilt. How many risks do you take with something where you’ve already invested hours of work?

4 Comments

  1. Lovely quilt! Of the designs you depict, I like the wave lines best! For me, that one draws the eye down along the diagonal and emphasizes that design element – lovely – but it may lose a bit of the “umbrella” theme.

    If you want to emphasize the umbrella theme, you could do so by picking an overall design that depicts water. The thread color selection will be key in an end result that enhances (but doesn’t overwhelm) your piecing! The thread color should get lost in your print and blend into the background fabric, adding texture.

    Here are some “water” overall patterns you could browse at http://www.intelligentquilting.com: Search for the designs called: watercourse
    water drops simple
    puddles

    You might also like “Raindrops Mod Dense” in my “Texture” design catalogue at http://www.allquilted.com/Designs.html
    This one would require a diagonal load of your quilt top onto a long arm machine – but that can be done with enough backing fabric.

    Lovely quilt, and I look forward to seeing it all quilted with the quilting design you select!

  2. The one I like best is wavy lines. Now to figure out why. I think the bottom one is too busy (even in a lighter color). I have forgotten whether this is wall hanging or lap quilt–more quilting makes a stiffer, less cuddly quilt. The first one loses my interest because it draws attention to the squares more than the whole. I do think I’d switch the wavy lines so it suggests rain falling.

Please leave a comment.

